How Deep the Father’s Love for Us

“How deep the Father’s love for us 
How vast beyond all measure 
That He would give His only Son 
To make a wretch His treasure 

How great the pain of searing loss 
The Father turns His face away 
As wounds which mar the chosen One 
Bring many sons to glory 


Behold the Man upon a cross 
My guilt upon His shoulders 
Ashamed, I hear my mocking voice 
Call out among the scoffers 


It was my sin that held Him there 
Until it was accomplished 
His dying breath has brought me life 
I know that it is finished 

I will not boast in anything 
No gifts, no powr’s, no wisdom 
But I will boast in Jesus Christ 
His death and resurrection 

Why should I gain from His reward? 
I cannot give an answer 

But this I know with all my heart 
His wounds have paid my ransom



We sang this second to last in church today, and the lines in bold and italics were simply overwhelming.  An incredible way to bring an end to church and start the new week.


Leave a Reply

