By Lion’s Mane!

About two weeks ago I went through the first three Narnia books in about three and a half days.  It was exhilarating; I enjoyed the stories more than I had ever before.

Here are some of my favorite quotes:
In the darkness something was happening at last.  A voice had begun to sing.  It was very far away and Digory found it hard to decided from what direction it was coming.  Sometimes it seemed to come from all directions at once.  Sometimes he almost thought it was coming out of the earth beneath them.  Its lower notes were deep enough to be the voice of the earth of herself.  There were no words.  There was hardly even a tune.  But it was, beyond comparison, the most beautiful noise he had ever heard.

The children could not move.  They were not even quite sure that they wanted to.  The Lion paid no attention to them.  Its huge red mouth was open, but open in song not in a snarl.  It passed by them so close that they could have touched its mane.  They were terribly afraid it would turn and look at them, yet in some queer way they wished it would.

It was of course the Lion’s voice.  The children had long felt sure that he could speak: yet it was a lovely and terrible shock when he did.

“Creatures, I give you yourselves,” said the strong, happy voice of Aslan.  “I give to you forever this land of Narnia. I give you the woods, the fruits, the rivers.  I give you the stars and I give you myself.  The Dumb Beasts whom I have not chosen are yours also.  Treat them gently and cherish them but do not go back to their ways lest you cease to be Talking Beasts.  For out of them you were taken and into them you can return.  Do not so.”

“Laugh and fear not, creatures.  Now that you are no longer dumb and witless, you need not always be grave.  For jokes as well as justice come in with speech.”

“Wouldn’t he know without being asked?” said Polly?
“I’ve no doubt he would,” said the horse (still with his mouth full).  “But I’ve sort of idea he likes to be asked.”

“Well done,” said Aslan in a voice that made the earth shake.  Then Digory knew that all the Narnians had heard those words and that the story of them would be handed down from father to son in that new world for hundreds of years and perhaps forever.

“He thinks great folly, child,” said Aslan.  “This world is bursting with life for these few days because the song with which I called it into life still hangs in the air and rumbles in the ground.  It will not be so for long.  But I cannot tell that to this old sinner, and I cannot comfort him either; he has made himself unable to hear my voice.  If I spoke to him, he would hear only growlings and roarings.  Oh Adam’s sons, how cleverly you defend yourselves against all that might do you good! …”

And Digory could say nothing, for tears choked him and he gave up all hopes of saving his Mother’s life; but at the same time he knew that the Lion knew what would have happened, and that there might be things more terrible even than losing someone you love by death.

“It means,” said Aslan, “that through the Witch knew the Deep Magic, there is a magic deeper still which she does not know.  Her knowledge goes back only to the dawn of time.  But if she could have looked a little further back, into the stillness and the darkness before Time dawned, she would have read there a different incantation.  She would have known that when a willing victim who had committed no treachery was killed in a traitor’s stead, the Table would crack and Death itself would start working backwards…”

“Don’t you think it was bad luck to meet so many lions?” said Shasta.
“There was only one lion,” said the Voice.
“What on earth do you mean?  I’ve just told you there were at least two the first night, and –“
“There was only one; but was swift of foot.”
“How do you know?”
“I was the lion.”  And as Shasta gaped with open mouth and said nothing, the Voice continued.  “I was the lion who forced you to join with Aravis.  I was the cat who comforted you among the houses of the dead.  I was the lion who drove the jackals from you while you slept.  I was the lion who gave the Horses the new strength of fear for the last mile so that you should reach King Lune in time.  And I was the lion you do not remember who pushed the boat in which you lay, a child near death, so that it came to shore where a man sat, wakeful at midnight, to receive you.”
“Then it was you who wounded Aravis?
“It was I.”
“But what for?”
“Child,” said the Voice, “I am telling you your own story, not hers.  I tell no one any story but his own.
“Who are you?”
“Myself,” said the Voice, very deep and low so that the earth shook: and again “Myself,” loud and clear and gay: and then the third time “Myself,” whispered so softly you could hardly hear it, and yet it seemed to come from all round you as if the leaves rustled with it.”

Shasta was no longer afraid that the Voice belonged to something that would eat him, nor that it was the voice of a ghost.  But a new and different sort of trembling came over him.  Yet he felt glad too.

“Please,” she said, “you’re so beautiful.  You may eat me if you like.  I’d sooner be eaten by you than fed by anyone else.”
Leave a Reply

