She works, I just get paid for it

Every now and then, I am asked what I do for a living.  Seeing my left ring finger, an inquisition as to my wife’s vocation inevitably follows.
It is not unusual for the inquisitor to remark how fortunate we are to be able to have my wife stay home.  Many times I have responded with a whimsical, “She works harder than I do, I just happen to get a paycheck” or something to that effect.  This is 100% accurate, as my wife’s duties at home often put my vocation’s to shame.
But upon further reflection, I no longer find my response sufficient, although I do agree we are fortunate that she is just as enthusiastic to home-make as I am to have her do so.  My inquisitor’s reaction implies my family is well-off (read: wealthy) enough to have my wife stay home.  I am blessed with a full-time job with benefits, for which my thanks cannot be overstated, but we are far from affluent by American standards.
To be blunt, financial abundance is not why my wife and I made the decision for her to be a full-time housewife and mother.  
My wife is a homemaker because it maintains the most intimate family dynamic during our child’s (and by the grace of God future children’s) life.  The right of a husband and wife to raise their children in the manner they see best is foundational to the health of a society and provides the strongest support system.  Barring any preventative interruptions, we plan to homeschool and raise our child(ren) in the fear and nurture of the Lord.  In a world where children are constantly bombarded with reasons to disobey and dishonor their parents, we choose to go the other way.  And will teach them the to do the same.
I am willing to be called  “puritan” or “too sheltering,” and will wear such insults as badges of honor.  There are far worse things than being considered too constricting.  If families sheltered and protected their children as well as they feed them, it would be hard to argue from the improvements that would follow in culture as a whole.  Long live the nuclear family!
In response to what may be one of the most pretentious scribblings of 2014, Steve at Triablogue writes:

BTW, it’s ironic that her notion of an above average accomplishment is when a feminist succeeds in doing what is average for a man. Backpacking through Asia or getting a promotion is pretty average among males. So Amy is one of those feminists who is measuring herself by men. How many men measure themselves by women…much less by feminists?  

Let’s contrast the role she assigns herself with the role nature assigns her. If naturalistic evolution is true, then an accomplished woman is about on the same plane as an accomplished orangutan or chimpanzee. What self-respecting great ape wants to be an average orangutan when you can be get promoted from a beta orangutan to an alpha orangutan?  

Still, in the great scheme of things, does it really matter where you were on the pecking order of great ape society? Is having “backpacked through Asia” on your tombstone a more impressive epitaph than “loving wife and mother”? Who are you trying to impress? And if your goal in life is to impress others, then your sense of self-worth depends on the importance (or lack thereof) that other humans assign to you.  

What’s so great about being extraordinary, anyway? Do geniuses lead happier lives? 

What if “average” means being what God made you to be. Is that humiliating? Or should that be fulfilling?

And this sizzler from Matt Walsh in response to the same article:

But also because my one experience with wading unwittingly into the “Mommy Wars” taught me something. It taught me that our broken, confused society has convinced many stay-at-home moms that they need to justify or apologize for their choice to opt out of the hallowed ”job force” in favor of full-time mothering. 

But they don’t. 

You don’t. You really, really don’t. 

If you read the comments under that ridiculous article, you’ll see women expressing outrage (understandably), but also offering explanations as to why they decided not to outsource their mom-duties. It pained me to see this. You’re raising your kids, it’s as simple as that. You shouldn’t have to give a reason, anymore than you should have to give your reasoning for drinking water or walking on two legs. 

I think motherhood should be promoted, and the institution of the family should be defended, but you do an excellent job of that simply by being moms. 

The disrespect for [stay at home moms] stems from ignorance. The only cure for ignorance is truth, and there are two ways to administer a dose of it: you can say it, or you can demonstrate it. 

All I do with this blog is say it. As moms – out in the world, against the odds, against the grain, giving of yourself, dedicating your lives to you children — you are demonstrating it. You are living it.

Lastly, Christopher Hitchens understands this, much to the disbelief of his feminist interviewer:

Leave a Reply

