Has not been the case since.

In 2011 I came the closest I ever have to becoming liberal in both theology and ideology.

As a result of God’s providence in putting the right books in my hands and leading me to a wholehearted embracing of the Reformed tradition of theology and faith, that has not been the case since.

Let me say that theologically speaking, I don’t have a liberal bone in my body. In college I read J. Gresham Machen’s great book, Christianity and Liberalism, and saw liberalism up close and at its worst, in the university and in the church. That was my vaccination; since my sophomore year in college, I have never since had the slightest temptation to be a liberal. The whole idea of adjusting or rewriting the gospel to make it acceptable to modern man is an idea which I view with supreme contempt. I have always insisted that Christianity is entirely pointless unless it is a revelation from the true God; and if God has revealed it, then we are emphatically not free to pick and choose, or to make adjustments to suit our tastes.

Equally, I despise the idea, not uncommon in evangelical circles, that Christians have to follow all the intellectual, ethical, and political fashions: egalitarianism, pluralism, liberal divorce, abortion, gay rights, evolution, secular psychology, or whatever.

– Dr. John Frame; A Theology of Opportunity: Sola Scriptura and the Great Commission 

Leave a Reply

